Contact Info
Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)
MIRTHE Scientific Advisory Board Members:
(click on hyperlinked name to view a short biography)

Dereje Agonafer
Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
The University of Texas at Arlington

Federico Capasso
Professor, School of Engineering Engineering
Harvard University

Ken Demerjian
Professor, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences,
Director, Atmospheric Sciences Research Center
State University of New York at Albany

Raed A. Dweik, M.D.
Director, Pulmonary Vascular Program
Department of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Cleveland Clinic

Matthew Fraser
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability
Associate Director for Research Development,
Global Institute of Sustainability
Arizona State University
Alan Fried
Senior Scientist, Earth Observing Laboratory
National Center for Atmospheric Research

Ben McCall
Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry
University of Illinois

Kathleen Richardson
Professor and Director, School of Materials Science and Engineering
Clemson University

Dr. Ronald W. Waynant
Senior Optical Engineer
U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Raed Dweik, Clevland Clinic
Raed A. Dweik, M.D. is the Director of the Pulmonary Vascular Program in the Department of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine in the Respiratory Institute at Cleveland Clinic. He is board certified in internal medicine, pulmonary disease, and critical care medicine. Dr. Dweik's clinical interests are in pulmonary hypertension, asthma, critical care, and chronic beryllium disease. He has a joint appointment in the department of Pathobiology in the Lerner Research Institute (LRI) and is Professor of Medicine at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve University.

Dr. Dweik's research interests are in exhaled breath analysis and the role of nitric oxide in cardiopulmonary physiology and disease especially pulmonary hypertension and asthma. He served on several related national and international panels and committees including: the American Thoracic Society (ATS) Chronic Beryllium Disease Diagnosis and Management Committee, the ATS taskforce to Standardize measurement of Nitric Oxide (NO) in exhaled breath, and the Joint ATS-ERS taskforce on Exhaled Breath Condensate (EBC). He also chaired the ATS committee writing the guidelines for the use and interpretation of exhaled NO (FENO) in clinical practice and the ATS committee on pulmonary hypertension phenotypes.

Dr. Dweik has been the recipient of many awards including The Best Doctors in America, America's Top Physicians, Who's Who in Medicine and Healthcare, Who's Who in Science and Engineering, Who's Who in America, and Who's Who in the World. Dr. Dweik has been the recipient of the Distinguished Teacher Award from the Internal Medicine Residency Program in 2000-01, 2003-04, 2004-05, 2006-07, 2007-08 and the Pulmonary Fellowship Program in 2006-07. In 2007, he also received the Scholarship in Teaching Award from Case Western Reserve University.

Dr. Dweik is an editorial board member of the Journal of Clinical and Translational Science, the Open Nitric Oxide Journal, and the Journal of Breath Research of which he is a Founding Member. He is also a journal reviewer for several peer-reviewed publications including: The Lancet, American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, Chest, Thorax, American Journal of Physiology, Lung Cell Molecular Physiology, European Respiratory Journal, Cleveland Clinic Journal of Medicine, The Journal of Respiratory Diseases, Annals of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. He is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians (FACP), the Royal College of Physicians of Canada (FRCPC), the American College of Chest Physicians (FCCP), the Society of Critical Care Medicine (FCCM), the American Heart Association (FAHA), and the Pulmonary Vascular Research Institute (PVRI). He is a member of the American Thoracic society (ATS) and a founding member of the International Association for Breath Research (IABR).

After receiving his medical degree from the University of Jordan Faculty of Medicine, Dr. Dweik completed his internship and residency in internal medicine at Miami Valley Hospital and Wright State University in Dayton, OH. He completed his fellowship in pulmonary and critical care medicine at The Cleveland Clinic.

Ben McCall, University of Illinois
Professor McCall received his B.S. degree in Chemistry from the California Institute of Technology in 1995 and a joint Ph.D. in Chemistry and Astronomy & Astrophysics from the University of Chicago in 2001. He was then a postdoctoral fellow at the University of California at Berkeley. He joined the University of Illinois faculty as an Assistant Professor in Fall 2004. His research interests are in the overlapping areas of high-resolution molecular spectroscopy and interstellar chemistry.